Moore & More

vic fortezza
3 min readSep 28, 2023

BMX training event, photo from reuters.com:

I have no recollection of a major incident that occurred in Montreal in the fall of 1970 — the kidnapping of a Canadian official by five Marxists, one female, who wanted Quebec to be self-governing, citing gross injustice and mistreatment of French Canadians. I had no idea there was such prejudice up north. I just finished The Revolution Script by Brian Moore, best categorized as historical fiction. It covers 59 days. All of it seems plausible, nothing exaggerated. It is engrossing from start to finish. The author does not judge. He merely tells the story. My only quibble is that it is too detailed in terms of street names and such. I doubt any of that would be of interest to non-residents of the city. It is not an easy read, especially given the small print of the Pocket Books paperback, which was published in ’71. I will not play spoiler and say more. I visited several Wiki pages to satisfy my curiosity. Three users at Amazon have rated The Revolution Script, forging to a consensus of 3.6 on a scale of five, the rating pulled down by someone unsatisfied with the condition and price of his purchase. He was the only one to comment. I will add my two cents, rating it 3.5.

Born in Belfast, Brian Moore served in non-combat capacities during WWII. He emigrated to Canada in 1948, worked as a journalist and became a Canadian citizen. He moved to New York, then California. He taught creative writing at UCLA. He was prolific, banging out more than 25 novels, two short story collections, some non-fiction and 14 screenplays, including Torn Curtain (1966) and Black Robe (1991). Five other films are based on his work. The Lonely Passion of Judith Hearne (1987), starring Maggie Smith and Bob Hoskins is rated 7.1 on a scale of ten at IMDb; The Statement (2003), starring Michael Caine and Tlda Stinton, 6.2; Intent to Kill (1958), starring Richard Todd, 6.7; Cold Heaven (1991), starring Theresa Russell and Mark Harmon, 5.2. Uncle T (1985) seems to have been lost. There have been two documentaries about him, and several biographies as well. Married twice, he was a father of one. He passed away at 77 in 1999.

Another gem from the Staten Island goombah:

Headline from foxnews.com: “Billionaire’s 25,000 wine bottles go to auction for up to $50 million combined.” Drink up.

The floating book shop was plagued by sprinkles today. My thanks to my Constant Benefactress, who donated two books, and to the woman who delivered about 40 primo CDs; and to Wolf, who bought 17 of them.

My Amazon Author page: https://www.amazon.com/Vic-Fortezza/e/B002M4NLJE

FB: https://www.facebook.com/Vic-Fortezza-Author-118397641564801/?fref=ts

Read Vic’s Stories, free: http://fictionaut.com/users/vic-fortezza

--

--

vic fortezza

I was born in Brooklyn in 1950 to Sicilian immigrants. I’ve had more than 50 short stories published world wide. I have 13 books in print.